WEBINAR

Global studies using deuterium to determine human milk volume - Dr. Cornelia Loechl

Location

Zoom Webinar - ZOOM LINK WILL BE PROVIDED ON LAST PAGE OF REGISTRATION AND IN CONFIRMATION EMAIL.

Date and Time

12:00 PM EDT (JUNE 1) / 6:00 PM CEST (JUNE 1) / 12:00 AM AWST (JUNE 2)

COURSE Description

The IAEA supports the use of the deuterium oxide dose-to-mother technique to quantify human milk intake. This technique allows accurate measurement of the amount of human milk consumed by breastfed infants without interfering with normal feeding practices. A lactating mother is given a small amount of deuterium-labeled water, which equilibrates with maternal body water including the human milk. The deuterium dose is then gradually, over a two weeks period, transferred via the milk to the breastfed infant. Simultaneous reduction in maternal and increase in infant body water allows calculation of human milk intake using a compartmental model. If the concentration of nutrients or potentially toxic contaminants is measured in human milk, the infant’s intake of essential nutrients or environmental contaminants can be ascertained. The technique is also used to objectively assess the exclusivity of breastfeeding practices via non-milk water intake. Examples of human milk intake from different regions and infant’s intake of nutrients and contaminants will be presented.

Registration INSTRUCTIONS
  • New Users: If you are a non-member who hasn't made an account with us before, please create an account by entering your email under "New User."
  • Members and Existing Users: If you are an ISRHML member or an existing user, please login under "Member or Existing User."
  • Webinars are free for all to attend, including those who are non-ISRHML members.
COURSE CONTACT

Ali Carlson: info@isrhml.com

ISRHML MEMBERS

MAKE A DONATION
TWITTER FACEBOOK