All Events








March 2021  Back to Top

African Webinar: Strategies to optimize breastfeeding in Kenya  
Tuesday, March 2, 2021

Speaker:  Dr Elizabeth Kimani – Murage, African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC)
Time: 5:00 PM EAT / 3:00 PM CET / 9:00 AM EST on March 2, 2021
Optimal breastfeeding has many benefits, including promoting optimal growth, development and health of the child. Despite these benefits, breastfeeding has not been fully optimized in Kenya. Although the proportion of children who were exclusively breastfed in Kenya improved from 32% in 2008 to 61% in the latest national survey in Kenya (2014), we are still below the national target of 75% by 2022. Promising interventions to optimize breastfeeding in Kenya may include global initiatives like the Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI), the Baby Friendly Community Initiative (BFCI), Human Milk Banking (HMB) and Baby-friendly Workplace Initiative (BFWI). The presentation will focus on the application of these initiatives to optimize breastfeeding in Kenya.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.
Click here for the webinar flyer.


Asia-Pacific Webinar: Advances in Human Milk Microbiome Research Down Under  
Monday, March 29, 2021

Speaker: Dr. Lisa Stinson, Microbiologist Ecologist, University of Western Australia
Time:11:00 am AWST / 4:00 AM CET (March 30) / 10:00 PM EST (March 29)
Over the past two decades, increasing research attention has been paid to the human milk microbiome. The community of micro-organisms in human milk likely contributes to infant microbiome seeding and immune training, as well as to mammary health. However, to date, investigation of this community has been largely limited to short-amplicon surveys, with poor taxonomic resolution. The purported composition of the milk microbiome is influenced by methodological factors such as method of DNA extraction, de-fatting, and sample collection and storage issues. Further, the human milk microbiota do not exist in isolation. They likely interact with non-microbial component of milk, such as antimicrobial proteins, milk fat globules, macro- and micro-nutrients, hormones, oligosaccharides, and immune cells. They also likely produce and respond to bacterial metabolites in human milk. The milk microbiome must therefore be considered in relation to these other factors in order to form an integrated and holistic view of this community. In this talk, methodological and theoretical advances in human milk microbiome research from the Perth Human Lactation Research Group will be presented.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.
Click here for the webinar flyer.

ISRHML MEMBERS

MAKE A DONATION
TWITTER FACEBOOK