Executive Committee


President: Sharon Donovan

Dr. Donovan received her PhD in Nutrition from UC Davis with Bo Lonnerdal.  She completed  a postdoc in Pediatrics at Stanford, before joining the faculty at the University of Illinois.  She studies bioactive components in human milk and gut development, the microbiome and host-microbe interactions.

President Elect: Bert Koletzko

Bert is a Professor of Pediatrics and Head the Div. of Metabolic Diseases and Nutritional Medicine at Hauner Children’s Hospital, LMU University of Munich, Germany. Bert trained in Pediatric Departments in Germany, South Africa, Tanzania and Canada. He is a long-time member of ISRHML and currently serves on the Executive Committee. Bert’s goal as President is to continue strengthening our society as a science-based organization serving as the leading global platform for exchanging, discussing and facilitating research in the truly interdisciplinary area of human milk and lactation science.

Past President:  Lars Bode

Lars Bode, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Division of Neonatology and in the Division of Gastroenterology and Nutrition in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine. Lars and his lab study biosynthesis and functions of human milk oligosaccharides (HMO), complex glycans that represent the third most abundant component in human milk. Recent research from the Bode lab indicates that HMO may reduce protozoan parasite infections, mother-to-child HIV transmission via breastfeeding, and the risk for preterm infant to develop necrotizing enterocolitis. Visit www.bodelab.comfor additional information.

Secretary: Meghan Azad

Meghan holds a Canada Research Chair in Developmental Origins of Chronic Disease and is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Child Health at the University of Manitoba. Meghan’s research program is focused on the role of infant nutrition and gut microbiota in the development of asthma, allergies and obesity. Meghan helped to establish the new ISHRML Trainee Expansion Program and has served on the ISHRML Executive Committee since 2016. She looks forward to expanding her role with the Society in the position of Secretary.

Treasurer: Nancy Hurst

Nancy is the Director of Women’s Support Services at Texas Children’s Hospital Pavilion for Women, and is responsible for the clinical and financial activities of several programs. These include the Lactation services, Milk Labs, Mothers’ Milk Bank, and Patient Education Program. Nancy has been an ISRHML member since 2006 and served on the Executive Committee from 2010 to 2013.  Nancy is excited about the opportunity to serve ISHRML as its next Treasurer.



Councilors 2019-2021
Maria Carmen Collado
Instituto de Agroquímica y Tecnología de Alimentos, CSI

Wei Wei Pang
National University of Singapore

Sharon Perella        
University of Western Australia

Councilors 2018-2020
Shannon Kelleher    
University of Massachusetts, Lowell, USA

Sarah Taylor        
Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, USA

David Sela        
University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA

Councilors 2017-2019
Teresa Da Costa        
Universidade de Brasília, Brasil

Nathan Nickel        
University of Manitoba, Canada

Evette van Niekerk    
Stellenbosch University, South Africa