Upcoming Regional Webinars

See the webinars in each of the WHO World Regions below. CLICK HERE FOR A TIME ZONE CONVERTER.

Africa

Americas

Asia-Pacific

Europe

Dr. Katharina Lichtner, Managing Director, Family Larsson-Rosenquist Foundation

From Research to Impact
The Family Larsson-Rosenquist Foundation is revitalising the journey from science to impact, so countries can break through entrenched challenges and sustain ambitious breastfeeding goals. At FLRF we have a vision – a world in which every child has an optimum start in life through the benefits of breastmilk – so we focus on building efficient, proven pathways to get there. We do this by supporting research and the development of innovative tools and resources that help decisionmakers. The webinar will introduce FLRF’s strategy of how it combines research with more translational approaches and an integration with key goals of the global community. Furthermore, over the last year we have introduced a human centered design as well as a systems thinking approach to our work, which is increasingly influencing our strategic thinking and will influence of how we work in the future.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.
Click here for the webinar flyer.

6:00 PM CEST / 12:00 PM EDT on May 4, 2021 / 12:00 AM AWST on May 5, 2021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Cornelia Loechl,
Nutritional Specialist, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Global studies using deuterium to determine human milk volume
The IAEA supports the use of the deuterium oxide dose-to-mother technique to quantify human milk intake. This technique allows accurate measurement of the amount of human milk consumed by breastfed infants without interfering with normal feeding practices. A lactating mother is given a small amount of deuterium-labeled water, which equilibrates with maternal body water including the human milk. The deuterium dose is then gradually, over a two weeks period, transferred via the milk to the breastfed infant. Simultaneous reduction in maternal and increase in infant body water allows calculation of human milk intake using a compartmental model. If the concentration of nutrients or potentially toxic contaminants is measured in human milk, the infant’s intake of essential nutrients or environmental contaminants can be ascertained. The technique is also used to objectively assess the exclusivity of breastfeeding practices via non-milk water intake. Examples of human milk intake from different regions and infant’s intake of nutrients and contaminants will be presented.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.
Click here for the webinar flyer.

12:00 PM EDT (June 1) / 6:00 PM CEST (June 1) / 12:00 AM AWST (June 2)

Eastern Mediterranean

ISRHML MEMBERS

MAKE A DONATION
TWITTER FACEBOOK